Award Information

American Institute of the History of Pharmacy Award
This award recognizes the graduate earning the best record in a course mainly devoted to pharmaceutical history, as judged by the Honors, Awards, and Scholarship Committee. In lieu of achievement in such a didactic pursuit, the award may also include recognition of a student in a local competition who best carries out some other type of pharmaco-historical activity (e.g. historical essay, collecting books or artifacts for himself or the school, historical photography, historical hobbies, etc.). The award consists of a certificate recognizing student achievement from AIHP.

APhA-ASP Senior Recognition Award

Each spring, APhA honors the graduate from each College or School of Pharmacy who has made the greatest contribution to his/her APhA-ASP chapter, with a Senior Recognition Certificate. In addition, APhA will nationally recognize all of the honored seniors through its publications.   The award consists of a certificate of recognition.

ASHP Senior Recognition Award
ASHP recognizes the graduate from each College or School of Pharmacy who served as President of his/her ASHP chapter.  The award consists of a plaque.

Gregory Outstanding Graduate Award

This prestigious award is named in memory of Lloyd L. Gregory and in honor of the Gregory family of Bristol, TN, in recognition of their visionary leadership, philanthropy, and service to the University and the Lloyd L. Gregory School of Pharmacy.  The recipient of this award must demonstrate excellence in academics and finished in the top 20% of the graduating class. The recipient must also demonstrate a continual devotion to their faith as evidenced by activities such as involvement at church, involvement with CPFI, and/or the desire to integrate their faith into the practice of pharmacy.  Lastly, the recipient must demonstrate excellence in servant leadership through involvement in health-related and/or community volunteer projects, involvement in medical missions, service to the profession or school, and/or leadership activities within the school or community.  This is the highest honor awarded by the Gregory School of Pharmacy.  The award consists of a plaque, a Medallion, and $10,000 applied towards tuition for the spring semester.  If you qualify for this award, you must provide the Student Affairs Committee with a minimum 500-word essay demonstrating your success in meeting the above criteria.  Email your completed essay to by August 15.

Gregory School of Pharmacy Mission Service Award
This award is given to a graduate who demonstrates excellence within a missions setting by showing compassion, evangelism, and pharmaceutical care in a cross-cultural setting.  The award consists of an engraved plaque.

Gregory School of Pharmacy Servant Leader Award
This award is given to the graduate who put forth the most effort in helping fellow classmates succeed academically, professionally, and spiritually.  The recipient is nominated by the current fourth-year class and selected by the Student Success Committee.  The award consists of a plaqueIf you would like to nominate someone for this award, complete the application form above and submit it and all required documents by March 15th.
Dr. and Mrs. Jeffrey D. Lewis Award for Practice Innovation and Entrepreneurship: Awarded to a graduating student who is positioning her/himself to engage in an innovative and entrepreneurial professional practice initiative that will require a significant investment of personal financial resources.  The intention of this award is to spur and support innovation and entrepreneurism among our graduates.  Interested applicants must submit a written summary of their planned initiative which includes, but is not limited to: a general description of the practice initiative; a statement demonstrating its innovative and entrepreneurial nature; a statement regarding the manner in which the initiative will uniquely serve the needs of patients (or others); a timeline for initiative actualization; a summary of the financial resources required to execute the initiative (a summary of the business plan would be preferred); and a statement regarding any business partners that will be joining the applicant in the initiative.  Applications and accompanying documents will be reviewed by an internal committee and the recipient will be notified at the April All School Assembly.  Completed applications and all accompanying documents must be received by March 1st(1) $1,000  (P4's Only)

The Merck Graduate Award (2)
This award is given to 2 graduates for superior scholarship and professional achievement.  Leadership qualities, as well as professional attitude, will be considered along with academic performance in the selection of the individuals for this honor. The award consists of a Merck Manual and a certificate.
Mylan Pharmaceuticals Excellence in Pharmacy Award
Presented to a graduate who is in the top 25% of his/her class, intends to enter practice upon graduation, demonstrates high professional motivation, and possesses a unique ability to communicate drug information.
The award consists of a framed limited edition lithograph and a certificate. 
Phi Lambda Sigma Leadership Chapter Senior Award
This award is presented to a Phi Lambda Sigma Leadership Society member graduate who is chosen by their respective chapter based on contributions to pharmacy leadership.  The award consists of a certificate.
Rho Chi Academic Achievement Award
This award is the highest scholastic award offered by the Gregory School of Pharmacy. This award recognizes the graduate with the highest academic average at the end of the spring term of the fourth professional year.  The recipient must have attended GSOP for all four professional years.  The award consists of a plaque.

 Wolters Kluwer Clinical Drug Information Award of Excellence in Clinical Communication

This award sponsored by Wolters Kluwer recognizes an outstanding student in the area of clinical communication.  This award consists of a certificate and free one-year subscription to Lexi-COMPLETE mobile app from Lexicomp.